Faculty

John H. Bolte IV, PhD

Director, Injury Biomechanics Research Center
Professor, School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences
Research Focus: 
  • Human Injury Tolerance
  • Mechanisms of Injury
  • Car Crash Safety
  • Occupant Safety - Pediatric and Elderly Persons

Publications: Research Gate, Google Scholar
Email: john.bolte@osumc.edu

Amanda M. Agnew, PhD

Director, Skeletal Biology Research Laboratory
Professor, School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences
Research Focus: 
  • Fracture Mechanisms & Risk in the Context of Bone Quality
  • Functional Anatomy & Biomechanics
  • Skeletal Histomorphometry and Human Variation, Especially Changes During Growth & Aging
  • Bioarchaeology of Medieval Poland

Publications: Research GateGoogle Scholar
Email: amanda.agnew@osumc.edu

 Yun Seok Kang, PhD

Director, Injury Biomechanics Research Laboratory
Associate Professor, School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences
Research Focus:
  • Human Injury Risk & Mechanisms
  • ATD Development & Biofidelity Evaluation
  • Multibody Kinematics & Dynamics
  • Finite Element Modeling

Publications: Research Gate, Google Scholar
Email: yunseok.kang@osumc.edu

 Julie A. Mansfield (Bing), PhD

Site Director, Center for Child Injury Prevention Studies
Research Assistant Professor, School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences
Research Focus:
  • Pediatric Injury Biomechanics
  • Child Restraint System (CRS) Performance
  • CRS Usability and Compatibility
  • Child Passenger Safety Outreach/Education

Publications: Research Gate, Google Scholar
Email: julie.mansfield@osumc.edu

Randee Hunter, PhD

Assistant Professor - Clinical, Division of Radiologic Sciences and Therapy
Research Focus:
  • Skeletal Biology/Bone Quality
  • Human Skeletal Variation
  • Imaging
  • Histomorphometry
  • Anatomy

Publications: Research Gate, Google Scholar
Email: randee.hunter@osumc.edu

Angela L. Harden, PhD

Research Assistant Professor, School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences
Research Focus:
  • Forensic Anthropology
  • Skeletal Trauma
  • Assessment of Injury Severity
  • Human Anatomy and Osteology

Publications: Research Gate, Google Scholar
Email: angela.harden2@osumc.edu

Staff

Gretchen Baker, PhD

Research Scientist, School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences
  • BS, Mechanical Engineering, University of Kansas, 2016
  • MS, Biomedical Engineering, The Ohio State University, 2020
  • PhD, Biomedical Engineering, The Ohio State University, 2022
Research Focus:
  • Pediatric Injury Biomechanics
  • Child Restraint System (CRS) Performance
  • Vehicle Occupant Posture and Seat Belt Fit

Publications: Research Gate
Email: Gretchen.Baker@osumc.edu

Mary Elizabeth Cole, PhD

Research Focus:
  • Bone Tissue Histomorphometry
  • Age-Associated Bone Loss
  • 3D Microscopic Imaging
  • Image Processing Automation

Publications: Research GateGoogle Scholar
Email: Mary.Cole@osumc.edu

Angela Tesny, PhD

Post-Doctoral Researcher, School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences
  • BS, Mechanical Engineering, Ohio Northern University, 2017
  • MS, Mechanical Engineering, The Ohio State University, 2021
  • PhD, Mechanical Engineering, The Ohio State University, 2022
Research Focus:
  • Head and Brain Biomechanics
  • Vehicle Occupant Safety
  • Human Injury Mechanisms

Publications: Research Gate
Email: Angela.Tesny@osumc.edu

Alex Bendig, M.S.

Research Engineer
  • BS, Biomedical Engineering, Ohio State University, 2016
    MS, Biomedical Engineering, Ohio State University, 2020

Publications: Research Gate
Email: alexander.bendig@osumc.edu

Michelle Whitmer

Lab Service Coordinator
Michelle.Whitmer@osumc.edu

Angelo Marcallini, B.S.

Research Engineer

  • BS, Biomedical Engineering, The Ohio State University, 2021

Research Focus

  • Data Acquisition Systems
  • Human Injury Biomechanics
  • Lower Extremity Measurement and Analysis

Email: angelo.marcallini@osumc.edu